FOTD: Cthulhu Cultist (12/31/11)

New Year’s Eve was FUCKING AWESOME!

First, we went to Jay and Laura’s for “pre-gaming,” and I got to hold their newest cat (kind of still a kitten), Decker, who hasn’t let me hold her yet. She’s fierce, and adorable, and we half-snuggled/half-rough-housed. Adorable!! There was also a piñata, and fire crackers! (And now I kind of totally want fire crackers to set off in our driveway every night. Ahem.)

Then we went to Efrain’s and Alex’s, which was Cthulhu-themed, so I went as a Cultist. Pretty much inspired by the HP Lovecraft Historical Society’s Call of Cthulhu, even though it’s in black and white. As to why I went with green and purple, I don’t know. I’ve just always imagined Cthulhu as kind of green with an oily purple sheen. Whether that translated into the makeup…..well….. And I probably should’ve used some orange around my eyes to help make them look sleepless and sunken in, but I kind of like the blue, too. (I don’t think I would have replaced the blue with orange, just augmented it. Maybe some really sallow, sickly yellow, too. Or maybe that would go even more “bruise-y” than I wanted. I was aiming for “deranged, manic, sleepless,” more than “bruised.”)

-Too Faced Shadow Insurance
-Lancome Colour Dose EyeColour & Base in Blue Hawaii (all around eyes)
-L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Golden Sage (lid, crease)
-Clinique Quick Eyes Cream Shadow in Sparkling Nude (mixed with Golden Sage, inner corners)
-Maybelline Color Tattoo Eyeshadow in Painted Purple (mixed with Golden Sage, outer corner, outer crease)
-L’Oreal Voluminous Smoldering Eyeliner in Black
-Ardell Fashion Lashes in 110 Black
-Ardell Lash Tite Adhesive (*really* not a good idea to use this for non-individual lashes, and I had to learn the hard way)
-L’Oreal Double Extend Eye Illuminator Mascara in Black Crystal
-CoverGirl & Olay Simply Ageless Serum Primer
-Clinique Airbrush Concealer in Neutral Fair
-Revlon ColorStay Makeup in 150 Buff
-Lancome Colour Dose EyeColour & Base in Blue Hawaii (to create shadows on cheeks, nose, chin)
-tarte for True Blood eyeshadow palette: Stake (to create shadows on cheeks, nose, chin)
-L’Oreal True Match Super-Blendable Makeup in Alabaster (to make cheeks extra white)
-Coty Airspun in Translucent Extra Coverage (for more paleness)
-Illamasqua lipstick in Kontrol (blotted)
-Hi-Fi Cosmetics Spotlight Lip Glaze in Monster Mash (center of lips)

And plenty of Osis Dust It to muss my hair. And there were some serious shenanigans at the Cthulhu party. 😀

5 thoughts on “FOTD: Cthulhu Cultist (12/31/11)

  1. Badass. I love the super pale skin with the dark purple lips, very deranged-hypothermic-chic.
    For the bruised/sleepless look I find warm matte browns/red-purples to be indispensable. A little under the eyes and along the inner corners really makes a difference.

Leave a Reply

