FOTFA: Face of the Farting Around :) (8/31/11)

I didn’t get a chance to wear makeup to work today, but I wanted to play with it, hence “farting around.” I’ve recently, and successfully, bleached out the remaining green in my hair, and dyed it orange (specifically, Special Effects Napalm Orange). I’ve never had orange hair before, as orange is quite a bit outside my comfort zone, and I didn’t think it would go well with my skintone. But I’m finding that I quite like it. Which is a bit problematic, as the original plan was to dye it orange then red over top, so the red wouldn’t fade to a pink. Only now I’m thinking maybe I’ll hold off on going red, and enjoy the orange for a bit. Decisions, decisions. I also wasn’t sure what makeup to wear with bright orange hair, so I asked my fellow Makeup Hero ladies for suggestions. (And if you’ve got suggestions and/or requests, let me know! I’m not sure how long I’ll keep this orange, but I do want to have fun with it, makeup-wise, while it’s around.) Their suggestions? Whatever the fuck I want – which is always what I’ve figured “went” with funky colored hair. (I mean, it already looks unnatural, so why bother trying to have makeup that doesn’t “clash,” right?) Green eyes and lips, so I look like a flower – :). Purple. And most definitely red lipstick looks for days, particularly MAC Lady Danger. Well, I don’t have Lady Danger, but Revlon’s Fire and Ice is supposedly a (non-matte) dupe for it, so I picked that up. And that’s what I played with tonight. Actually, it looks a bit pinky-red to me, but I suspect that’s the nearness of the Napalm Orange making it read that way, instead of an orange-y-red? Also, I got to wear an AMAZING dress today (at least until I came home and exercised) – but I’m going to post that for tomorrow’s TiLT post. šŸ™‚ So, without further ado, tonight’s farting around look with a supposed Lady Danger dupe:

-CoverGirl & Olay Simply Ageless Serum Primer (first time using it, but I think I may love it, will let you know if that changes)
-CoverGirl & Olay Simply Ageless Eye Concealer in 215 Light Medium (under eyes; definitely loving this)
-Concrete Minerals Electric Eye Primer
-CoverGirl Eye Enhancers Quad in Coffee Shop (lightest color on lids; second lightest, gold color in crease)
-Clinique Quickliner for Eyes in Smoky Brown (tightlined and upper lashlines)
-Maybelline One by One Volum’ Express in Brownish Black
-e.l.f. Wet Gloss Lash & Brow Clear Mascara (brows)
-Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Fire & Ice

14 thoughts on “FOTFA: Face of the Farting Around :) (8/31/11)

  1. I don’t know squat about Lady Danger or anything, but I do love that Revlon lipstick. It almost looks like a crazy neon coral-orange in the last photo, but maybe my monitor is acting up.

    • I think I’m just going to have to get Lady Danger for a proper comparison. Oh, shucks. (sarcastic snap) And I do have a Stargazer that is seriously crazy neon orange-y, I’m considering trying that. But with the hair it might burn people’s retinas, so….maybe not rocking it to work. Hee.

  2. Holy shit fuck. Excuse my mouth but DAMN GURL CAN I HAVE YOU NUMBAH? Jkay I already have it. *winks* I LOVE THIS HAIR COLOR SO MUCH. Sorry for the shouting but omg Kathy it’s so pretty.

    • Mermaids, yay! I tend to think of them with green or blue hair – but actually, now that you’ve said it, I’m remembering my favorite mermaid from the Peter Pan ride at Disney, and she totes had glow-in-the-dark bright as fuck orange hair. …I wonder if mine’ll glow under uv. It wasn’t marked as such, but maybe I’ll get lucky…

  3. Your hair………. is fricking amazeballs Kathy! And it makes me so happy to hear you’re gonna be doing red lipstick and green eyes and all that stuff!! (Morange (or any bright orange lippie) would look HAWT on you too)

    • Thank you, Aoife! And I’m psyched, too, because, yeah, one of my thoughts last night was that Morange would probably not look hideous on me right now, with the hair to pull it out. I’ve loved Morange, but been terrified it would look awful on me before. But now….I think it’s time to give it a go.

    • I might be okay with that. šŸ˜‰ I was tired of the green but couldn’t make up my mind, so I asked Greg and he said red. But I think he’s digging the orange as much as I am, so….looks like I’ll be hanging onto it for a while. (And then when I finally do get antsy for a change, *then* I’ll do the red.)

Leave a Reply

