FOTN/Homage: Lotus Eater (6/13/11)

For some reason, there’s a mental link for me between opium smokers and the Lotus-Eaters from the Odyssey, even though the plants are two separate plants, whatever. This is an attempt at another of Pixie_a_la_mode’s badass looks, specifically, this one: Opium Smoker. I have neither Bleeding Poppy nor Old Fashioned Fascism, so even though this look is one of the first ones I stuck on my “looks to copy” tumblr, I’ve been hesitant to recreate it, because I suck at finding matching shades in my stash when I don’t have the exact thing used in the original look. (Or at least I tell myself I suck at it, and so I don’t even try. My therapist would be so proud of me recognizing that negative thought, and that’s good for me, but honestly I’d be a smidge happier if she could be proud while handing over some Bleeding Poppy and Old Fashioned Fascism. Only half kidding.) So let’s see how I did – I think it’s way prettier than I was expecting to be able to pull off, but the colors are rather different than I expected (and than Pixie used, but that’s okay, right? she was my inspiration, so I can hit a bit off the mark).

-Concrete Minerals Electric Eye Primer (all around eyes)
-Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy (upper lids)
-Fyrinnae Loose Eyeshadow in Banana Mochi (lids)
-Fyrinnae Loose Eyeshadow in Forbidden Lover (crease, outer vee, kind of blended diagonally into Banana Mochi, and lower lashline)
-e.l.f. Mineral Eye Liner in Black (waterlines – a little puny for waterlines, but I was too lazy to sharpen Perversion)
-L’Oreal Carbon Black Lineur Intense
-Nyx Doll Eye Volume Mascara
-Fyrinnae Lip Lustre in Bare Shoulders

10 thoughts on “FOTN/Homage: Lotus Eater (6/13/11)

  1. Kathy this is a billion times prettier then my version. I LOOVVVEEE this soooo much! The plummy red (or dark mauve) looks amazing on you!

    • Naw. I mean, it’s alright, and thank you, of course, but I very much prefer your version, and was real mad that I blended Forbidden Lover too far into Banana Mochi and therefore lost that gorgeous mostly-goldish lid. And wound up with like, a smidge of a goldish lid. Whatevs. It’s still pretty, but I prefer your version, and will probably attempt it again to get it *just* right.

    • Thanks!

      That’s why I made mine – I just keep it open while I catch up on blogs and pop looks directly into it as I see them. For days when I want to do makeup but don’t want to repeat myself or just do black liner and lippie, but have no inspiration. 🙂

    • Thank you! Yellows are still kind of out of my comfort zone – but Banana Mochi has played a heavy part in bringing me around. It’s really pretty. (And now I’m all, “It’s kind of soft, though. Time for Buttercupcake!!!”)

  2. Brilliant! Was at temple today and people were wandering around wearing white sheets, green aprons and bakers hats and some were in a swimming pool baptising corpses! I asked this fool behind a veil what was going on but he just mumbled put his hands through a slit in the veil and started washing me whilst mumbling some tripe! Can you tell me are these people sane?

  3. Oh I like, it’s nicely blended and the colours go well together.
    Everytime I see your posts you’re using Fyrinnae’s lip lustres… and everytime I am there thinking ” I wish they would be back for sale”… Bare Shoulders is so lovely !

    • Thank you, Lorraine! I’m actually trying to work on my blending techniques, so that makes me happy to hear!

      And re: Fyrinnae – I know, right! I need that dark green one (Something Decadence?) so bad. I don’t know why I didn’t get it the last time I got some lustres – but since then, there have been so. many. times. when I’ve been like, “I’ll use that green lustre…..SHIT, that’s right: my dumb ass didn’t get it. Dammit, Jacobs!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

