Madeleines!

The madeleine mutilation at work today was mostly a success. I came home with a half-full bag of the truvia ones, and six assorted real sugar ones (which have disappeared by now, oh gee, how’d that happen?).

First, you need a madeleine pan. Preset your oven to 375. You’re going to spoon the batter into your buttered (or non-stick-sprayed) pan by about a teaspoonful. I pretty much eyeball it, but you don’t want the molds filled all the way up, because the madeleines rise during baking. Bake them in the oven for ten minutes. Let them cool for about ten to fifteen minutes (seriously! when they’re done they have a tendency to come out looking a little undone, but they firm up; if you overcook them a smidge, they’re still pretty good). And then eat the shit out of them. Or give them to people. You know. But don’t just throw them away because they are the awesomest cookie EVER. I think they last pretty well, too, and are supposed to be best when they’re a couple days old (according to the professor who introduced me to them and gave me the basic recipe – we read Proust in class, so she brought in madeleines), but they don’t last very long in *this* household. 😉 ETA: I should mention that I have a 12-mold, non-stick pan, and the recipe yields about 2 dozen cookies. So I bake each batch of batter in two batches of baking (awesome sentence, that). Which also means I took 144 cookies into work today. Yeah, get there. But I’m testing recipes for a surprise I’m planning, so….I’ve got some more recipes to test, and will probably be doing that again. Except not for another week, at least. I’m kind of madeleined out at the moment.

Basic recipe:
Mix 2 eggs, 1 tsp. vanilla extract, 1 tsp. lemon juice, and 3/4 cup sugar. Melt (um, my recipe says to softened but not melt the butter, but I always just melt it) one stick of butter (or 1/2 cup, it’s the same thing; margarine also works) and mix that in, too. Then mix in a cup of flour. Boom. There’s your batter.

Now for mixing it up a bit: I stick pretty much to the basic recipe, and switch out extracts and juices. For the Truvia ones, I used the basic recipe but used 3/4 c. Truvia instead of sugar. Now, stevia is much sweeter than sugar, so I probably should’ve adjusted the amount, but I forgot, and the end cookies were good. They also have a weird (but not unpleasant) cooling sensation. Other sugar substitutes, I don’t have experience with, but they’d probably work out, with more or less tweaking of the recipe. I will say, however, that while the Truvia madeleines were still delicious, they were not as mind-blowingly awesome as the real sugar ones. Now for the different flavors – same basic recipe, but instead of the vanilla extract and lemon juice, you use:

Lemon madeleines (rated really high at Greg’s department, and are tasty):
1 tsp lemon extract
1 tsp lemon juice

Cranberry orange:
1 tsp orange extract
3 tsp cranberry juice

And now for my two favorite flavors! Cherry almond and mojito (and mojito wins by a smidge).

Cherry almond:
1 tsp almond extract
3 tsp cherry juice

Mojito:
1 tsp mint extract
2 tsp lime juice

And there you go. Happy baking! (And even happier eating.)

6 thoughts on “Madeleines!

    • According to wikipedia, they are mini sponge cakes. Made in two small towns in France (well, made famous there, I guess, or originated there). I always call them something along the lines of “little cookies that are kind of cake-y in consistency,” but I guess mini sponge cakes is more to the point. Whatever, they are SCRUMPTIOUS, is what they are.

Leave a Reply

