Yummy raw!

So, I’m doing Goddess Leonie’s Radiant Goddess Course, and I haven’t been strictly following the nutrition/menu plans, because I feel like we’ve changed so much already (due to the no-sugar, low-GI, hypoglycemia stuff), and I don’t want to take on too much at once and get overwhelmed, because that’s when I tend to get frustrated and quit. But Greg and I sat down yesterday to plan meals for the week, prior to grocery shopping, and I said, “Hey, let’s check some of these meal ideas.” They’re all either mostly raw or completely raw, and we found quite a few we wanted to try this week.

Our basic day is like this: pre-breakfast smoothie for me (protein, brewer’s yeast, powdered skim milk), green smoothie for both of us (big on kale these days, plus some fruit, going to start adding some Kyo-Green just for more green goodness), and then some low-GI breakfast option (eggs and bacon, Greek yogurt with ground flax seed and nuts, stuff like that). I have snacks or a meal about every two hours, to regulate my blood sugar, and it’s only dropped once since we made this change, and that was a couple days ago and totally because I cheated too much: had some stuff I shouldn’t have, and didn’t have snacks on time. We bring lunch with us, usually leftovers from dinner the night before, and a good portion of salad. (Greg makes AWESOME salads, in large batches, and we just eat from that until it’s empty, then he makes another, lather, rinse, repeat.) Then for dinner, some low-GI option plus plenty more salad. So I’m getting ALOT of salad, when I used to get none (seriously), I’m getting ALOT of fresh produce, when I used to get very little, and my palate is getting to the point that I actually looooove how veggies taste. And they even *have* a taste – that’s a huge change for me. They’re not bland, like they used to be.

Any hoodle. All that to say, tonight, dinner was AMAZING. We had awesome delicious salad made by Greg, and then he also made one of the all-raw recipes from the Radiant Goddess Course. (I was going to “cook” tonight, but I got possessed by a cleaning demon again, so he did the food while I finished cleaning.) I don’t know if it’s exactly kosher for me to share Leonie’s recipe, but I’ll see if I can find one similar on the web, because it was FUCKING DELICIOUS!!! Would eat again, and again, and again, and again. (In fact, we’re having leftovers for lunch tomorrow, yay!) I’m sure between raw foods and all this produce, I’ll be feeling pretty good and energetic.

Pictures:
BADASS SALAD

AMAZING RAW ZUCCHINI FETTUCINI ALFREDO

2 thoughts on “Yummy raw!

  1. Weird, I just started the raw food diet last week. Been making crazy smoothies…all the time! Have so much fruit and veggies in my kitchen, I’m not sure what to do with the crap in my cabinets.
    I’m currently hunting for raw food recipes. I be coming to your house for dinner! 😛

    • 🙂 Several years ago, I made THE. BEST. SALAD. EVER. And all I remember is it used Bragg’s Amino Acid, and I ran a shit ton of vegetables through the food processor’s chopping blade. And this was back when I hated vegetables, hated salads, and I couldn’t get enough. And I’ve never been able to find that recipe again since. It’s like my white whale.

Leave a Reply

