Swatch Sunday, 3/20/11: CoverGirl lippies

I don’t know what this new CoverGirl deal is – is it a re-launch? Re-branding? Just new products for Spring? Don’t know, don’t really care, just love, love, LOVE the products! You’ve probably noticed their NatureLuxe Liquid Silk Foundation is about all I use these days, and my wishlist for their NatureLuxe/Lip Perfection/Queen Lippies is, um, a bajillion miles long but boils down to “ALL OF IT PLZKTHXBAI!” I also picked up one of the cream blushes with Olay mixed in, and I love the shit of out that sucker, so now 1-OBVIOUSLY, I want more of those cream blushes, and 2-I’m wondering why the fuck I haven’t tried their “+Olay” stuff before yet, and thinking I need to get on that, stat. Anyway, I thought I’d share my lippies from their new lines/whatever, because I LOVES them so hard. And also because I wanted to get your opinions on which shades or what products of theirs I should try next – so if you’ve got suggestions, by all means, let me have them!

without flash
top row: NatureLuxe Gloss Balm in Anemone (left) and Hibiscus (right)
bottom row: Lip Perfection lipstick in Divine (left), Fairytale (middle), and Smitten (right)

with flash
top row: NatureLuxe Gloss Balm in Anemone (left) and Hibiscus (right)
bottom row: Lip Perfection lipstick in Divine (left), Fairytale (middle), and Smitten (right)

Lip swatches below.

without flash

nude lips

NatureLuxe Gloss Balm in Anemone

NatureLuxe Gloss Balm in Hibiscus

Lip Perfection lipstick in Divine

Lip Perfection lipstick in Fairytale

Lip Perfection lipstick in Smitten

 

with flash

nude lips

NatureLuxe Gloss Balm in Anemone

NatureLuxe Gloss Balm in Hibiscus

Lip Perfection lipstick in Divine

Lip Perfection lipstick in Fairytale

Lip Perfection lipstick in Smitten

I’m not sold on Fairytale *on me* – I think it’s a bit off with my skintone. But it also reminds me of some other lippies I have, so I’ll do a comparison soon. I love the other four – but my absolute favorites are probably Hibiscus and Smitten. What do you think? Which shades are you lemming? Or should I try next?

9 thoughts on “Swatch Sunday, 3/20/11: CoverGirl lippies

    • No, the Lip Perfections are lipsticks. I don’t know if CG’s changed the formulation from other lipsticks or what, but they seem like “normal” lipsticks to me, maybe a bit more moisturizing than I’m used to (from drugstore stuff). And the Gloss Balms are like glossy tinted lip balms in a solid tube, if that makes sense? They’re not in a tub, and they’re not liquid, but they are very similar to glosses and balms.

      • This might be more helpful – CoverGirl’s own words about them:

        Lip Perfection: “Bright, gorgeous color that can transform your day and your lips. Enriched with Silk Therapy Complex, our formula helps sustain moisture levels and helps create soft, smooth, beautiful lips in just 7 days.* [*vs bare lips]”

        NatureLuxe Gloss Balm: “Get the sheer color and shine of a gloss with the soft, lightweight feel of SPF 15 balm. Fortified with mango and shea butter, this feel-good formula leaves your lips feeling decadent and delicious.”

    • I loooooove Smitten, Hibiscus, and Anemone, too. To be honest, I probably wouldn’t be that comfortable with Divine, if I hadn’t worn Fyrinnae’s Fan Service to work already a couple times, so Divine is in my “tame” category now. 🙂 Otherwise, I’d be like, “I might wear that color….on clothes. Not on my face, though.” But I’m liking it for Spring.

Leave a Reply

