Soup Thursday, 2/17/11: the best soup EVER

In my opinion, anyway. Greg thinks it’s “definitely up there,” but not the definitive best. And holy crap, do I love barley. I had no idea.

A friend passed me this recipe when she heard I was changing up my diet (due to the hypoglycemia/pre-diabetes kick in the arse), and I’m not sure where she originally came across it herself, so I’m just going to slap the recipe up here in case you want it. It’s SUPER DUPER AMAZING DELICIOUS.

mushroom and lentil and barley soup.

2 cups button mushrooms, sliced (1 small package)
1-2 oz shiitake mushrooms, diced
3/4 cup pearled barley, dry
3/4 cup lentils, dry
2 quarts vegetable broth
2 tsp minced garlic
1/4 cup onion flakes
2 tsp dried summer savory
1 tsp dried basil
3 bay leaves
1 tsp ground black pepper
2 beef bouillon cubes (**I used vegetable bouillon instead)
salt to taste (**I completely omitted salt, and it turned out perfect. I think the bouillon gives it a saltiness?)

Combine all ingredients in a 4-quart slow cooker. Cook on low for 10-12 hours or on high for 4-6 hours. With one hour left in cooking, add 1 cup of water. Don’t forget to take out the bay leaves before you eat it.

Makes 4 large servings, about 2.5 cups each.

Amount Per Serving
Calories 207
Total Fat 0.7g
Saturated Fat 0.2g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 1108mg
Carbohydrate 45.1g
Dietary Fiber 7.1g
Sugars 6.6g
Protein 6.8g
Vitamin A 20% Vitamin C 6%
Calcium 2% Iron 10%

2 thoughts on “Soup Thursday, 2/17/11: the best soup EVER

  1. Shiiiiiit this looks so good. I love mushrooms and this looks right up my alley. I’ve never done a soup like this before but I think I’ll have to try it!

Leave a Reply

