FOTD: Gypsies and velvet (12/28/10)

I wanted to play with some of my new Nyx stuff, so I pulled out these two eyeshadows. (And damn, Cherry Culture shipped these fast, and in the middle of a snowstorm, too!) I wanted to get more Nyx shadows, but I actually ended up getting only three shadows (these two and Yellow), and a bunch of lippies. Oops. I was going to use a Jumbo Lip Pencil, but then I grabbed Chocolate Berries instead. And, holy shit, do I love it! It is gorgeous, and it reminds me of a MAC launch I vaguely remember from high school, which was my pre-MAC time so I didn’t pay too much attention to it. Only I remember burgundy and peach, and velvety textures, and the MUAs looked like they’d walked right out of a bordello. SWOON. Too bad I can’t figure out which launch it was. Oh well, I’ve got Chocolate Berries now, so that’s a partially sated desire. On another note, I got a sample of Caudalie Vinoperfect Day Perfecting Cream SPF 15 from Sephora, and tried it today, and fuck me, it is AMAZING. It’s also hella expensive, so fuck you, Sephora, for introducing me to it. Ugh.

(You may notice that my hair is 1-unkempt/unruly, and 2-kind of similar-looking to yesterday’s ‘do. That would be because, ahem, someone’s lazy ass just untucked the ends of her braids last night, slept with them in, and then rolled out the door like that this morning. I mean…in eight days, I’ll have a swathe razored out the side of my head. Time to start getting cozy with “messy” and “stomps all over my perfectionist tendencies” right? The eyebrows are more of that, no, really; not just laziness, I swear. 😉 Which is another reason I’m really into this razored-down thing: I feel like it’ll be a sink-or-swim situation with respect to being more comfortable with myself at all times.)

-Concrete Minerals Electric Eye Primer
-Nyx Eyeshadow in Gypsy (lid and crease)
-Nyx Eyeshadow in Hawaiian Coffee (crease)
-e.l.f. Eyebrow Lifter and Filler (“lifter” on browbone)
-CoverGirl Perfect Point Plus Eyeliner in Black Onyx (tightlined, waterline, upper lashline)
-Nyx Doll Eye Volume Mascara
-e.l.f. Eyebrow Treat & Tame (“tame” on eyebrows)
-MAC Select Cover-Up in NC20
-Clinique True Bronze Pressed Powder Bronzer in Sunkissed (contour)
-Providence and Grace lipstick in Chocolate Berries

And a candid, since Greg loooooves to take those. (I have like…four others, but they’re not share-able, for various reasons: vanity, boobage, etc.)

13 thoughts on “FOTD: Gypsies and velvet (12/28/10)

  1. Love this look! The lipstick looks awesome! Providence and Grace huh? It seems like I’ve seen a few other people wearing their lipcolors and they look awesome! I may have to go browse their shop one of these days!

    • Thank you! Yeah, I first came across Providence & Grace on Fashioned in Finland’s blog – their Hawaii lipstick looked amazing on Nea, and I really wanted it. I picked up this lippie, and some of their shadows. Haven’t tried the shadows yet, but they’re really pretty to look at. 🙂

    • Thanks, lady! I feel like reaching for a brown is almost cheating, like it’s neutral and boring or something, but then I see Gypsy and…yeah. Not too boring for me. (I wish the gold sparkle showed up a bit better, though; it’s slightly more apparent in real life.)

Leave a Reply

