Another award?! Aw, you’re making me blush!

The lovely Amy (or is it Amyy?), over at Amyy’s Addiction, just gave me the Versatile Blogger Award! Thanks, lady!

This award has the following rules:

Thank and link back to who gave you the award.
Share seven things about yourself.
Pass it along to seven blogs you’ve recently discovered and enjoy.

Hm. Seven things…right.
1. I also have anxiety issues (out the wazoo, kind of, but I’m working on them, and making good headway), and just picked up a clonopin script so that driving back from Greensboro after Thanksgiving isn’t TOTALLY UGLY. Yeah. I have this “thing” about driving at night in general, and another “thing” about hitting deer, and another “thing” about driving when the road could possibly be icy. So, yeah, I’m *real fun* in a car around Thanksgiving and Hogswatch/winter holidays. I’m actually not that bad lately, but I’m hedging my bets, too.
2. I FINALLY started the Twinkleberry socks I had to have after finding the pattern over at Principessa Grassa’s a while back. I haven’t posted pictures of them (yet), but they are well on their way, believe me. I love them!
3. I’ve FINALLY started getting serious about practicing the uke. It’s getting easier, and my strumming is getting there. I’m most excited about learning “Button Up Your Overcoat.” I want to learn about ten songs, and then it’ll be time to start my jug/string band. So. Excited!
4. I have a foul mouth, but really…I don’t think it’s that bad over here, on the blog. Or maybe it is, and I’m just used to it? It’s TONS worse in real life, though. But I have a deep and abiding love of cussing, so…not likely to go anywhere any time soon. (Although I do try to rein it on other peoples’ blogs. At least until *they* drop a cussword.)
5. I am super verbose. Surprising, I know. I try to be concise, but it’s a real effort, especially when I’m so into describing something down to the last nuance.
6. I kind of totally love karaoke. My perfectionism and social anxiety combine to make it pretty damn uncomfortable sometimes (like when Greg signs me up on the sly to sing “Borderline” :P), but I have a decent voice and not only do I know that, I’m actually rather vain about it, so I love karaoke. I also just joined SingSnap recently, so we’ll see if I find my balls and let y’all know when I’ve recorded shit.
7. Fatshionista totally makes me want to be more stylish on a regular basis, but I’m kind of clueless about putting together outfits that involve much more than jeans, a tshirt, and maybe some simple accessories. Plus my wardrobe, as it stands now, doesn’t seem to extend much past tshirts, nor lend itself to remixing. I’m trying to figure this shit out, though, so you can expect to see *even more preening* in the future, god help you all. 😉

And seven blogs that you need to check out (some/half/most? of these are tumblrs, but that’s cool, right?):
A Pretty Penny
Big Mama Style (I love that her looks are so eclectic!)
That Obscure Object (not always SFW)
Fancy Geek
Fuck Yeah Chubby Fashion
Fuck Yeah Fat Positive (also not always SFW)
Fuck Yeah Femmes (and also not always SFW)

So, yeah, that’s where my head’s been at lately: fat positivity, fashion, makeup, queer identity. They’re all kind of related, actually, at least for me. 🙂

Chubble Bubble

10 thoughts on “Another award?! Aw, you’re making me blush!

  1. fuck yeah, fat positivity! we as women shouldn’t have so much body hate, it isn’t healthy. even thinner girls like myself have body image issues all due to the pressure society puts on us to ‘be pretty look good’. i support thee ❤

  2. Haha, yeah, don’t ever be afraid to swear around me, I have the mouth of a sailor’s wash bucket. 😉 FINALLY! Someone else who thinks being fat can be a good thing! 😀 Oh, and Amy is my real name, but call me whatever you like. 🙂

  3. Awesome post! I too have the anxiety issues, although they’ve gotten a lot better in recent months. Soooo glad to hear you’re enjoying the Twinkleberries! 🙂 And I am right there with ya on the fat positivity (as you know) and the fatshion …

    • Yay! I’m glad your anxiety’s gotten better, too. It’s such a great feeling, isn’t it? And I looooove the Twinkleberries. I’m impatient to finish this pair so I can make more in different yarns/colorways.

  4. Fashion is too hard >:[ I feel like you have to have to have so many different pieces to make an outfit look really fashion-y and cool, and also lots of accessories, of which I have barely any. I just like wearing my Abercrombie t-shirts I got when they had 50% off all clearance, so people think I got that ca$h 😀

    • I know, right. I think maybe that’s my problem? I actually have plenty of *clothes*, just not tons of different accessories to “pull it all together.” Also, I am pretty curmudgeonly and don’t like most trends. I guess I’m just trying to figure out how to have a more cohesive, apparent personal style. I have definite opinions about what I like, style-wise, I just never really wear it *myself*, you know? It’s so much easier to grab jeans and a tshirt.

  5. Oh god I’m so crap with fashion, I just wear the same tshirts and shorts/jeans over and over and over again until they fall to pieces. And then occasionally I’ll buy a nice dress for a night out but that’s it XD

    Feel free to swear as much as you’d like on my blog, I sort of encourage it since I got a bullshit email from a woman telling me not to swear in other peoples’ blog comments (and she doesnt even have a blog). /rantover

Leave a Reply

