Book Meme Day 17

Day 17 – Favorite story or collection of stories (short stories, novellas, novelettes, etc.)

So far, it would have to be Clive Barker’s Cabal, which comprises a novel and four long stories (at least, according to Publishers Weekly, via Amazon.com). The novel, Cabal, was the basis for the movie Nightbreed – and I wholeheartedly love both the novel and the movie, although they are kind of very different. (Nightbreed has kind of a hint of…something almost campy to it, which I love, but didn’t detect in Cabal.) They both end rather abruptly, in the middle of the action: a showdown in Midian, with no clear resolution. I mean, obviously the residents of Midian are routed, but it’s just as obvious that there’s loads of story left to occur – *after* the novel/film ends. I wanted it to continue, either in the novel or the film or, ideally, both. I love Midian and its inhabitants, and just want *more of it*. Ah well.

The stories in Cabal are great, too – my favorite of them is “The Life of Death.” I found it very atmospheric, creepy, and gripping.

5 thoughts on “Book Meme Day 17

  1. Have you read his Books of Blood? He always seems me wanting more in those stories – mostly wanting to know more about the mythology of some of the beasts. Then again they’re short stories so I guess that’s a given πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

