Book Meme Day 11

Day 11 – A book that disappointed you

Hm. Another tough one, since I tend to read books that I expect to like, and if I don’t like them, I stop reading them. I used to be really hardcore about finishing books once I’d started them, but now I figure life’s too short to waste on forcing myself to finish something just to have finished it. I guess I’ll say Perfume, by Patrick Suskind. It’s been recommended to me several times, and I tried to read it a couple years ago, and just found it really kind of dry and uninteresting. I just wasn’t interested by Grenouille. I’ve still got the used copy I bought, and I might try it again sometime, but probably not. So far, I’ve skipped the movie, too, even though Alan Rickman’s in it, and I love him. And I went through (and am still kind of in) a phase where I was fascinated by perfumes and making them, and wanted to do it myself – not just essential oils, but actual scent molecules and shit. That phase has quietened down a bit (right now it’s all “must dye a-shirts, and must do more t-shirt surgery, and MUST learn tatting”), but scent still interests me. Just not Perfume. I was disappointed to be unable to get into it, since it was so well recommended.

Leave a Reply

