Book Meme Day 5

Day 05 – A book or series you hate

Twilight.
Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus.

Yeah, that took all of about a nanosecond of thought. Maybe I should vlog these? And we can all watch me consider the question, and think about the answer, and then give the answer. Just so y’all could see how fucking quickly I spit today’s answer out. Like one of those free-association things. Apparently I have to think really, really hard to decide which couple things are my favorites, but shit I loathe with the fiery passion of a thousand suns comes instantly to mind. That probably doesn’t say anything good about me and my ability to hold grudges, does it.

2 thoughts on “Book Meme Day 5

  1. Ugh I fucking hate Twilight with a passion. I dont mind the movies (though I’ve only seen one of them so I cant really talk) because theyre pretty harmless and lulzy, but the books = some of the worst stuff I’ve ever read.

    I liked the start of Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus because a lot of it made sense, but then he basically repeated himself 50,000 times until the book was finished 😐

    • I haven’t even read Twilight, but I know too many women (and especially young women) who think the Bella/Edward relationship is like the paradigm of a perfect relationship, when it’s really dysfunctional. (No touching? Stalkery watching her in her sleep? Ew, no.)

      I liked the start of Men are from Mars, and then it started sounding a whole lot like, “Men need time to recover from a long day at work, so women should leave them alone and not expect them to talk, but women should have dinner ready, and a cocktail, oh, and blowjobs on demand.” It’s just sooooo….Ugh. I’m over it. It doesn’t help matters that I read several gender communications/interactions books in the course of getting my women’s studies degree, and they were all VASTLY better. At the very least, they understood that communcation styles aren’t dictated by *sex*, and not even always by gender – that it’s possible for someone (like me, for instance) to primarily follow feminine communication styles, but in some situations, to switch to masculine communication styles. Or that everyone might like time to relax? Stuff like that.

Leave a Reply

