Title grousing.

While I’m thinking about books (and since I ordered this book at work today), can I just say that, while I have nothing really against Kathy Reichs’s Bones series, that the title of her latest novel just really irks me: Spider Bones.

I mean, I get it: you want it to fit in with the “Bones” theme; earlier novels didn’t have “Bones” in the title, but then the tv show came along and I guess you wanted to capitalize on/connect with that. But spiders don’t HAVE bones. Because they have an exoskeleton, not an endoskeleton, and in arachnids (among others) the exoskeleton is formed of chitin. Spider chitin, not spider bones. Irked.

Sorry for my little nit-picky pedantic twitch there. But there it is.

2 thoughts on “Title grousing.

Leave a Reply

