FOTD: Citrusy (7/14/10)

Damn. Is it just me, or do I look oddly tan in these pictures? Wtf. I mean, I could have gotten slightly tan at the Outer Banks, I guess (although I almost always go straight to burnt, AND I was slathering on the sunscreen), but I don’t think the looks before this one seem so tan. Weird. Maybe it’s just Bertha’s screen acting up. Oooh, or maybe it’s because I used the soft flash to minimize the reflection on my glasses? Greg says it looks closer to me in real life than picnik’s “auto-fix” function, so I’ll leave it. Anyhoodles.

-Skin79 Diamond Collection Pearl Luminous Beblesh Balm
-e.l.f. Shimmering Facial Whip #90511 Citrus (as blush)
-Too Faced Shadow Insurance
-Fyrinnae Loose Eyeshadow in Titania (lid)
-Fyrinnae Loose Eyeshadow in Chlorophyll (crease and outer vee)
-Styli-Style Kajal Bullit Eyeliner #51 Black
-Nyx Doll Eye Long Lash #DE01 Extreme Black
-Fyrinnae Lip Lustre in Deceptive Innocence

I think it's pretty safe to declare Nyx Doll Eye mascara my HG mascara, right? Love it so hard!

And the Skin79 bb cream has definitely been doing me right. I'm running out, though, so time to order a "for-real" size. I think The Prestige is my favorite by a smidge.

My old eye cream (Booth’s) didn’t seem to really be doing anything for me, so I finally tossed it and snagged another to try: Mirra eye cream (available at Kroger). Anyway, unless my eyes are deceiving me (hur hur), I do believe my undereye area is looking improved. Sweet. I will keep using that stuff.

I picked up the Styli-Style Kajal Bullit the other day on a whim – it was just there, in the store, when I was searching again for the elusive Electrified (which I DID finally find – but haven't used yet because I'm lame like that). It was suggested as a sub for my beloved-but-possibly-lead-containing Hashmi Kajal (over at Painted Ladies a while back), so I thought I’d try it. And…meh. It’s alright. It didn’t wow me, and it certainly didn’t go on as smoothly and easily as my beloved Hashmi. In fact, it was rather pointy and hard, and kind of poked me, until it warmed up enough, and even then, still kind of pointy and hard. I think I’m just going to suck it up and get some more Hashmi, and really, really, really hope it doesn’t have lead in it. Or not enough to be harmful. If tons of ladies around the world wear it daily for years, and their eyeballs haven’t fallen out, I should be good, right? Actually, I’ll probably just use the Hashmi for bellydance or super intense smokey goodness until I find an actual dupe product, or learn how to use powder kohl properly, or learn how to make my own damn kohl from soot. I hear you can do that, so I might try.

And I’ve decided it’s high time to get a Kindle, because I love me some books, but we have a ridiculous amount, and a ridiculous amount of bookshelves – and STILL books piled up everywhere. And they’re mainly *my* books, too, since Greg doesn’t read all that much (except D&D and recording stuff, and shit online, which doesn’t take up space). So, Kindle time. Will be ordering it Friday. Will be squealing ridiculously much when it arrives shortly thereafter. I am very, very excited. I price checked some of the recent books I’ve bought in paper or hardback, and they’re all the same price or cheaper in Kindle form. Not only that – the amount of public domain (and therefore FREE) titles available for the Kindle that I actually would love to read, is insanely high. I’ve already got almost 150 titles on my Kindle wishlist, so…yeah. I will be very, very, very happy. But even though I’m not getting the latest or biggest model, it still isn’t that cheap. So…probably scaling back on the makeup buying for a bit. It’s a good thing I’ve got such a ridiculous collection already, then, isn’t it? 😉 I also plan to get my ass in gear properly practicing bellydance, zills, and ukulele, and sewing, knitting, and crocheting with the ridiculous yarn and fabric stash I already have. So between that and free books through Kindle, I should be set.

And we just got back from our friend Kimberly’s birthday celebration (I typed all the above *beforehand*), and I am tired as fuck, so, later taters.

One thought on “FOTD: Citrusy (7/14/10)

  1. Pingback: FOTD: 2/22/11 « spinster-in-training

Leave a Reply

