Excuse me while I go have the vapors.

Whew. I think my brain just exploded from a fangirlgasm: While devouring all the info I could find about the fourth Resident Evil movie over at IMDB, I learned that it’s going to be in 3D, and running in IMAX theaters, too. Fuck yes!!!!! Can’t wait.

Then I had to scour Milla Jovovich’s page, because 1-I don’t see that many movies in theaters, so I wanted to check which of her more recent films are out on dvd now, and 2-I’ve got a bee in my bonnet about her hair in the first RE movie. And I saw a mention of another movie in pre-production, set to film this summer, that caught my eye for some reason: The Winter Queen. So I checked that, and the synopsis intrigued me and it’s based on a novel, so then I popped over to wikipedia to scope out the novel. And…it sounds right up my alley. I didn’t read the whole plot summary, because I’m not feeling like spoilers right now, but I read enough to know I need this book. And probably the whole Erast Fandorin series. Check this out (from the wikipedia article):

Boris Akunin is the pen name of Grigory Chkartishvili, a Russian writer and academic who also worked as a translator of Japanese literature into Russian. Chkartishvili conceived of a series of detective novels demonstrating each of the genres of detective fiction, of which Chkartishvili found 16.

SWEET! I’m enough of a nerd that I find the idea of each novel in the series being in a different genre of detective fiction (or, to be annoyingly pedantic, should that really be “different subgenre”) alluring.

Leave a Reply

