FOTD: Pretty in….something (6/14/10)

First off, I’m not sure if my blush is actually unevenly applied or not. I was feeling pretty crappy by the time I took this photo, so I might just be oddly flushed? Or it could totally be uneven application – I’ve got a couple gripes, they’re below. Second of all, I was hoping this would turn out to be a dupe of that all pink Clinique look I saw back in college, or at least that it would turn out as prettily pink as the picture on the e.l.f. site. Nope, and nope. The eyes? Good and pink. The cheeks and lips? Are maybe kind of pink – not what I usually imagine in my head as a “pink” but whatever. But I’m not entirely sold on them going with the eyes. To my eye, it’s like a soft pink look on the eyes, and then the cheeks are golden rosey peach, and the lips are…muted rosey coral? I don’t even know how to classify that shade, other than “not the pink I was expecting.” But I wanted soft pink all over, and this is not that. The parts of it are cute, I’m just not sold on the sum, you know? But I’m just copying e.l.f.’s “Get the Look” instructions, so, I live and learn. I’ll definitely use these again, just not all together. Anyways.

-Skin79 Diamond Collection Pearl Luminous Beblesh Balm
-e.l.f. Natural Radiance Blusher in Glow
-Too Faced Shadow Insurance
-e.l.f. Shimmering Facial Whip in Lilac (lid)
-e.l.f. Brightening Eye Color Pretty N’ Pink (the pink on the far right, lid and blended upward; the extremely pale pink on the far left as a highlight under the brow)
-e.l.f. Eye Liner in Coffee
-e.l.f. Earth & Water Mascara in Coffee (*this is also called "Regular & Waterproof Mascara Duo" on their site; I used the regular side)
-e.l.f. Lip Element in Earth Rose

Alright, my bitching. Comparing the e.l.f. model to what I did, I think obviously the e.l.f. look made more use of the eye quad than I did. I wish they would have been more specific in the how-to, but whatever. The blush – sweet mother of god. I can’t remember the last time I used a powder blush, but are they supposed to be like this? I made sure to use my skunk blush brush so I wouldn’t get clown cheeks, and just barely swiped it across the actual blush – and a shit ton of blush crumbs popped up. Every time I attempted to get some blush on my brush, it just decimated the cake of blush, and more blush ended up as crumbs on top of the cake than actually got on my brush. It was pretty frustrating. However, I paid at most one dollar for this blush, so I guess I can’t really complain? (I got all my e.l.f. stuff during their Memorial Day “buy one, get one half off” sale – so this half the stuff I got was $1, and half of it was fifty cents.) I don’t really expect a $1 blush to blow me out of the water, so I’m not actually unhappy, just a smidge twigged that it took so long to apply so little, since it took so long to get any on the brush. My main complaint, that I was actually rather displeased with, was the mascara. And, again, it was no more than a dollar, but I wouldn’t even pay a dollar for shit that did this: on both sides (the waterproof and the regular), the mascara in the tube was so fucking dried out and clumped up on the wand, that the bristles were all smushed flat against the core of the wand, and I had to work really hard to manually fix them. (I’ll see if I can get a picture of this shit, because it happens every goddamn time. I’d do it now, but Greg’s using the camera and I’m lazy.) And then, because the mascara was so dried out, I had a devil of a time getting any of it on my lashes. I’m still not entirely convinced I managed to get any on them, but maybe I did. They looked slightly darker to me, but it might just have been wishful thinking. This mascara, obviously, is going straight into the bin (after I document it’s fucked-up-ed-ness). Fuck that shit, it’s not even worth fifty cents.

Other than that, I’m quite pleased with e.l.f. The clear mascara I got looks okay from the outside (haven’t tried it yet), but I’m going to steer clear of their “Earth & Water” mascara in the future. (Which is fine, since I’m having such a torrid love affair with Nyx Doll Eye anyway.) I’m aware of the potential issues with the powder blush, so I’ll take that into account and make sure I don’t pop it in my makeup bag on a day when I need to do a quick and easy application; but save it for when I can take my time. I’ve read a couple reviews of e.l.f.’s eyeshadows that say they’re chalky, but so far, I’ve found them actually pretty buttery and easy to blend and apply – even with the sponge applicators, which are admittedly kind of bobo. But, one dollar, folks. You’re going to get a bobo sponge applicator.

Oh, and the “lip element.” It comes in a pan, with a magnet on the bottom, and you can buy a four-pan palette from them – it’s their customizable jobby-do. I like the idea, but the magnets are pretty weak. Whenever I applied/touched up the lip color, the pan kept popping out of the palette, and it can be messy to catch. (Thankfully, I caught it every time and it never touched the floor, blecch.) But I’m sure I can find some stronger magnets at a craft store and switch them out. OR – since I don’t plan on switching out pans ever – I could just super-glue or E6000 those fuckers in permanently. So that’s not really an issue. Just a bit of fumbling on 6/14, but easily fixed.

Leave a Reply

