FOTD: Candied Flowers (6/7/10)

-Skin79 Diamond Collection The Prestige Beblesh Balm
-Too Faced Shadow Insurance
-Silk Naturals Eye Color in Fleur
-CoverGirl Liquiline Blast #410 Black Fire
-Nyx Candy Glitter Liner #CGL02 Disco Queen (over Liquiline Blast)
-Nyx Doll Eye Long Lash #DE01 Extreme Black
-Smith’s Rosebud Salve
-Silk Naturals Kisser Slicker in Bloom

I am continuing to love bb creams. Skin79’s The Prestige appears to be slightly pinker-toned than Super+ and Super+ Triple Function, and a bare smidge shimmery. Skin79’s Diamond Collection Luminous Pearl is the only sample I haven’t tried yet, and it appears to be slightly more pink-toned than The Prestige, and also the most shimmery of the four. Possibly even too shimmery. (I’m still on the fence as to whether there is such a thing as too shimmery. On the one hand, no, don’t be ridiculous, of course there isn’t. On the other hand, while I think your attitude largely determines whether you can carry something off – in other words, if you’re confident and happy, you will rock that look – I still don’t want to come off as mutton dressed as lamb. But then on the third hand, I am so utterly childish and silly sometimes that I think it’s more likely I come off as lamb pretending to be mutton.)

I bought a package of hoyu Japan BeautyLabo hair color, in Velvet Brown, from ebay seller alphabeautyuk. It arrived yesterday, which was great timing since I have been getting irritable over my roots growing in. So I got to dyeing last night, and I LOVE IT! I don’t have pictures for you just yet, but I can report that it was very easy to use, no staining, and produced the least amount of mess (both in and out of the shower) of any hairdye I’ve ever used. I am used to using quite a lot of hairdye to saturate my hair and make sure it’s all covered. The BeautyLabo seemed like a smidge less volume than I’m normally accustomed to – not too little to dye my hair, but just a little less than I’m normally comfortable with. (I like a little extra to supersaturate and hedge my bets.) However, the BeautyLabo kit comes with this fantastic brush applicator nozzle, and it gives excellent coverage. I’ve never used this kind of applicator before, but I think with a couple more uses, I could greatly reduce the amount of hairdye I need to cover my head sufficiently, which would probably be better for my hair’s health. Anyway. And the color is lovely. It’s truest to the color on the box (and shown on the website, here) where it dyed over the previous black dye. At my roots, it’s a bit lighter, although not actually “light” by any means. I think this might be because BeautyLabo is geared towards Asian hair, so black and dark brown. My hair is more medium brown (as far as I can tell, having only seen a couple inches of roots for the past decade or so), so I think that’s why the virgin roots came out a bit lighter. But they’re still quite lovely, and I am extremely happy with the BeautyLabo hair dye, and will be using it again for sure. I also want to try the bubble type dyes. And I’m under the impression these are temporary or semi-permanent dyes, so that means I can switch colors quite a bit, and try all the many lovely colors they have. (I’m especially excited about Milk Tea Brown, which may not work on me but I’m going to try it, and the pinky browns. But since I’ve most recently had black hair, I thought I’d better start with a darker brown.)

4 thoughts on “FOTD: Candied Flowers (6/7/10)

Leave a Reply

