FOTD: I love Nyx & Cherry Culture

I love Nyx, because they make gorgeous, great cosmetics at extremely decent prices. And I love Cherry Culture for letting me snag Nyx at even cheaper prices, AND get rewards points for it. And – I don’t think I’ve properly sung these praises yet – I looooove BusyBuzzyBees because their lip scrub unchaps my lips with a QUICKNESS, and their cheesecake lip balm is the most delicious and, more importantly, the most smoothing and moisturizing balm I’ve ever used. I think I may even like it better than Smith’s Rosebud Salve. It’s that good. I only have to use just a bit of it, and my lips are instantly soft and smooth and not at all greasy or slippery feeling. Looove the lip scrub and balm for when I’m wearing finicky lipstick that needs my lips to be in as good a shape as possible. (However, I doubt the lip balm would make it through the night, plus it’s not like I’d notice the scrumptious flavor while I sleep, so I’m sticking to the Lip Fix Mix for overnight lip moisturizing.)

And now, on to the FOTD:

-Skin79 Super+ Beblesh Balm Triple Function
-Too Faced Shadow Insurance
-Nyx Ultimate Pearl Eyeshadow #UP04 Charcoal Pearl
-CoverGirl Liquiline Blast #410 Black Fire (upper lashline)
-CoverGirl Liquiline Blast #430 Silver Spark (lower lashline)
-Nyx Doll Eye Long Lash #DE01 Extreme Black
-BusyBuzzyBees Honey Lip Scrub
-BusyBuzzyBees Cheesecake Lip Balm
-Nyx Round Lipstick #LSS634 Louisiana

Today I tried the Super+ Triple Function bb cream, and I like it quite a bit, too. I’ve only used this and the “regular” Super+ one day each, so I don’t really have a favorite of the two. Maybe after more prolonged use I’d see a difference between the two, and be able to pick one over the other, but not yet.

Also, I’m pretty sure I love fiber mascaras. It’s only my first day trying one (Nyx’s Doll Eye), but it is INCREDIBLE! Most of the fibers landed on my lashes so that they only extended slightly past the actual end of my natural lashes. But one – I don’t know how long these fibers are, but one worked out so that it seriously doubled the length of my lash. I don’t know how much of the fiber could have been in contact with my actual lash, but it was amazing. Unfortunately, it was just the one, so it looked kind of noticeably freaky (when all the rest weren’t that super long), and when I put my glasses back on, it smashed up against the lens, so I plucked it off. But damn, if that’s any indication of the crazy lengthening ability of fiber mascaras? SOLD! (I’ve been applying mascara gingerly to the inner corners of my lashes, since I’ve had some horrid gaffes lately, hitting my nose with the wand. I think that’s why my inner lashes aren’t as long as the outer ones – I only put one coat of Doll Eye on them, while the outer ones have about three coats.)

The only slight downer was that the eyeshadow has a ridiculous amount of glitter fallout. And even though I put TFSI from lid to brow, it applied a little bit darker/more densely in the crease for some reason. But! The fallout cleaned up super easily with a baby wipe (love those things! so useful), and I didn’t really mind the crease being darker than the lid. I mean, do you know how lazy I am? So getting the look of a two-shadow application with one wash of color? Cool with me, as long as it acts the same on the other lid, which it did. I wasn’t really expecting actual glitter particles in a pearl eyeshadow, but again, I didn’t really mind, since they weren’t big enough to irritate my eyes, and it’s a lovely sparkly charcoal. And plenty of glitter actually stayed on my lid – although next time I might try it with Pixie Epoxy to keep *even more* glittery goodness on my lids.

4 thoughts on “FOTD: I love Nyx & Cherry Culture

  1. Ooh! That lipstick looks sweet on you! I’ve been wanting to try the doll eyes mascara. But I have been wearing faux lashes lately to grow mine back out, since a lot of the length went away from eye swatching AL shadows so much. 😦 Once I’m finished with the bulk of this work, I’ll try it for sure!
    I use Detrivore’s eye primer or Pixie Epoxy (depending on what look I want) on top of TFSI and it helps keeps the sparkly shadows on a lot better. 🙂

    • Thank you!

      I’ve got some faux lashes to try, too, but I don’t trust my application skills enough to try them on a work day. 🙂

      How do you decide between the Detrivore primer and Pixie Epoxy? I don’t have any Detrivore primer (yet), so I’m not really sure how it compares to PE.

  2. Louisiana is so pretty on you :3 and I didn’t know the NYX Doll Eye was a fiber mascara! I was contemplating buying that and the Volumising one since I started watching MyEyeshadowIsOdd’s videos, so now I definitely want to try it ❤

    • Thank you!

      I didn’t know it was a fiber mascara, either, so the first time I pulled the wand out, I was like, “What the fuck is this shit? Did I get a spoiled one?” And then I realized. (S-m-r-t!) I think all the Doll Eyes are fiber mascaras, IIRC. And now I’m going to go watch MyEyeshadowIsOdd – thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

