In search of a good stormy eye…

It’s been nice and fairly gloomy all day, but still no rain. Bah. I really just want to light a firelog in the little firepit on the porch and sit outside with a blanket and a good mystery book, and listen to the rain. Oh well. Maybe Saturday. Sunday, Mel and Jess are coming over, and we’re watching the Always Sunny Christmas special and having late brunch with mimosas. Woo woo! (Their families are all out of town, I believe, so they can’t really celebrate Mother’s Day; and Greg’s going to visit with his mom. I usually go with him, but I always feel a little weird about it, like maybe she’d appreciate some time with her son, instead of always her son and daughter-in-law? So, yep, this year I’m staying home.)

Anyway, I decided late last night, while I was having trouble getting to sleep, that since I like stormy skies so much, I should try to capture them with eyeshadow. This look didn’t quite turn out as gloomy and stormy as I’d hoped, but I still like it quite a bit. (My main complaint, ironically, is that Moonagedaydream wasn’t muddy and murky enough. Never thought that would be a drawback when it comes to makeup, but, yeah. As I was applying it, I actually thought, “Damn, it’s too clear and vibrant.” Which is actually why you should go get some, because it’s gorgeous. But I wasn’t trying for “gorgeous” today, I was trying for “dismal, murky, cloudy, ominous.” Maybe a little “depressing” for good measure. Anyhoodle, I do digress.)

I have seriously *got* to stop raising my eyebrows every damn time I take a picture of myself. I think it makes me look surprised, which is just dumb (since, hello, I’m the one taking the picture), and I’m tired of it. But too lazy to reshoot the full face pic now, so, you get this.

-Physicians Formula Healthy Wear SPF 50 Powder Foundation in Translucent Light
-Aromaleigh Shadow Base in Light
-Aromaleigh Opulent Lustre Mineral Eyeshadow in Butterfly (inner corners)
-Aromaleigh Rocks! Sonic Eyes in Moonagedaydream (lids)
-Aromaleigh Les Papillons Mineral Eyeshadow in Soul Takes Flight (crease)
-L’Oreal HiP Color Truth Cream Eyeliner #905 Black
-CoverGirl VolumeExact Waterproof Mascara #125 Very Black
-Aromaleigh Bête Noire Nourishing Color Creme for Lips in Elisabetta

I quite like how this turned out, but it wasn’t what I originally envisioned, so the quest for a “stormy eye” continues.

2 thoughts on “In search of a good stormy eye…

  1. This is such a cool idea for an EOTD 🙂 it looks perfectly stormy.

    Argh it was raining all day yesterday, but I had uni and couldnt snuggle outside with a book 😦 though I probably would have been reading a Clive Barker book, which would have scared me back inside LOL

Leave a Reply

