“We don’t need no goddamn taxi fare.”

Yesterday and today, I’ve had a snippet of a song stuck in my head, and it’s been driving me crazy. This happens from time to time – I’ll get two lines, one line, or (as was the case this time) part of a line stuck in my head. And the only thing that gets it out seems to be listening to the whole song. Which was difficult this time, since it was a song I don’t actually own, that three of the Crow Quill Night Owls (Kit Stovepipe, Caliope Kane, and one of the Gallus brothers, but I can’t remember which one, natch) covered at the end of Le Serpent Rouge, which was back in March.

So, I heard it about a month ago, at this point, in the wee hours of the evening, after a night of adrenalin-fueled squeeling and wiggling and clapping and zagariting and…my point is, I was tired. The three Crow Quill Night Owls come back out and sing this one song acapella, and it is deliciously filthy. I fucking loved it. But I can only remember half a line of it at this point, which will NOT quit running through my head: “We don’t need no goddamn…” something. “We don’t need no goddamn something,” and I can’t remember what “something” was. I also distinctly remember Caliope Kane telling us who originally did the song, but all I remember of their name is “The.” Yeah, that’s going to be helpful.

So here’s what I did, and I found it in like two minutes: I googled “lyrics we don’t need no” and then I proceeded to tack various cusswords on to that. I started with “lyrics we don’t need no fucking,” and got a shitload of “we don’t need no stinking badges” hits, like I expected. Then I tried “motherfucking,” then “dicksucking,” and then “cocksucking” – and got my hit on the last one. And while “cocksucking” isn’t in the title, it was in the article – apparently, back then, 1950s, “cock” actually meant “vagina.” So The Clovers are actually singing about “the rotten vagina-suckers ball.” Whatever they actually meant by “cock,” I love it. The tune and the acapella delivery are just so sweet and doo-wop-y (because it *is* doo-wop), and it’s so filthy. Love it! I came across something similar on Coilhouse the other day, actually. I should go find that link…

Here’s The Clovers: “Rotten Cocksuckers Ball”

The rest of the line that was stuck in my head is “goddamn taxi fare.” “We don’t need no goddamn taxi fare!” Ahhh, that’s better.

In a cleansing burst of synchronicity, on our way to and from Asheville, Greg played (among other things) some Frank Zappa, and I loved it. And apparently Frank Zappa covered Cocksucker’s Ball. I could share that with you, but I’d rather put my current favorite Zappa song, “Bobby Brown.”

And here’s the other naughty oldie, thanks to Coilhouse. Read their post on Lucille Bogan.

And I just bought “For Adults Only: Rude Rock ‘n’ Roll from the 50s to the 70s,” which has “Rotten Cocksuckers Ball” and 25 other bawdy old songs. I am laughing my ass off, and learning the words as fast as I can, you bet.

Leave a Reply

