FOTD: 04/27/10

-Nyx Concealer Stick #CS03
-Physicians Formula Healthy Wear SPF 50 Powder Foundation in Translucent Light
-Too Faced Shadow Insurance (in crease)
-Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy (on lid)
-Aromaleigh Bete Noire Mineral Eyeshadow in Bette
-CoverGirl Perfect Point Plus Eye Pencil #200 Black Onyx
-L’Oreal Waterproof Voluminous Mascara Carbon Black
-MAC Viva Glam Cyndi

I used TFSI in the crease because it seems like when I use Pixie Epoxy with a shadow, the shadow looks great where it’s on PE, but then when I try to blend the shadow over the un-epoxied lid, it looks like crap. So I was trying for a smoother transition from shadow to skin. It’s definitely better than without the TFSI, I think.

And with flash:

I’ve really got to get a handle on taking good natural light pictures. I know flash can wash colors out, and that’s to be avoided, but I think Bette looks so much better in the pictures with flash. And not just because you can see the sparkles, even the areas without sparkles look more dimensional to my eye. I’ve read Kristen’s tips (on the Aromaleigh forums, IIRC), but none of our windows want to cooperate (they’re all facing the wrong direction, blocked by trees, or both). Anyway, any tips would be greatly appreciated.

3 thoughts on “FOTD: 04/27/10

  1. Oh and as far as natural light photos go, I take mine in a room with a window (I guess it wouldnt matter too much that your windows dont cooperate, my house has wide eaves so the windows dont cooperate either :P) where the lighting is natural, yet slightly dark enough so the flash goes off. I get sparkles and natural-ish lighting 🙂

    Buuuuuut if you cant do that, try holding a tissue over the flash, it diffuses it. You can try folding the tissue a couple of times if it doesnt diffuse it enough.

Leave a Reply

