Using all my willpower not to make an Amy Winehouse song title joke.

It’s an old joke, too, that’s already been done to death. (Although usually that doesn’t stop me. I love cheesiness.) I think I may have a bit of a problem when it comes to lipsticks, but we’ll get to that in a minute. I’m going to bust out some backlogged pictures. This might be photo-heavy, so grab a drink and get comfy.

From goddamn FEBRUARY, trying to make a rabbit-tooth face, I don’t know:

I’m pretty sure I have a picture of Greg in these ears, too, but I’ll keep that for myself. Speaking of my little monster, he took some Four Lokos to D&D yesterday, and they had a taste test, and he wrote down all the responses. He was the only one to like all the flavors, although everyone liked Fruit Punch and Uva (grape). However, he heard from his D&D-mates this morning, and they all reported feeling like SHIT and having upset stomachs. They’ve decided to skip the Four Loko at future sessions. We still had four left over, one of which is my Cranberry Lemonade I’m still going to try, so Greg took two with him tonight to his other D&D game (the one he runs, that I played in until…a month or so ago). One of the players in tonight’s game, Stephen, likes Four Loko, too. Greg and Stephen both have cast-iron stomachs and drink coffee all day long. So I guess the final verdict is, don’t bet on liking Four Loko unless your stomach is already used-and/or-immune-to copious amounts of abuse?

Here’s a picture of my freshly-dyed black hair, after it air-dried. Also, the picture on the left is with no retouching; the picture on the right is just Picnik’s Auto-fix button. I am just amazed by how much lighter Auto-fix makes my skintone. Crazy! (But I’m too lazy to go get a mirror and see which is closest – I suspect reality is between the two, and closer to the un-fixed version. Also, excuse that spot on my chin. Sans fard and all.)

FOTD: 04/19/10

-Eucerin Sensitive Skin Everyday Protection Face Lotion
-Nyx Cream Blush #CB11 Boho Chic
-Aromaleigh L’Orchidee Mineral Eyeshadow in Moth (crease)
-Aromaleigh Spring Solstice Mineral Eyeshadow in May Lily (lid)
-CoverGirl Perfect Point Plus Eye Pencil #200 Black Onyx
-CoverGirl VolumeExact Waterproof Mascara #125 Very Black
-Nyx Round Lipstick #LSS595 Strawberry Milk (dabbed on, blotted)
-Evil Shades Wicked Gloss in Diana’s Bow

I meant to try a different placement than I would normally do, and put Moth on the lid and May Lily in the crease. But I can’t really remember, and the pictures sure look like May Lily’s on the lid, and Moth’s in the crease. Hm. Oh well.

FOTD: 04/21/10 (aka “the great Shangri-La success”)

-Nyx Concealer Stick #CS03 Light
-Physicians Formula Healthy Wear SPF 50 Powder Foundation in Translucent Light
-Too Faced Shadow Insurance
-Nyx Eyeshadow Trio #TS37 Shangri-La:
-yellow in inner corner/lid
-peach and bright orange on lid
-bright orange in crease and outer vee
-CoverGirl Perfect Point Plus Eye Pencil #200 Black Onyx
-CoverGirl VolumeExact Waterproof #125 Mascara Very Black
-Maybelline Dream Mousse Blush #20 Peach Satin
-Silk Naturals Kisser Slicker in Caramel (blotted)
-CoverGirl ShineBlast Lipgloss #835 Beam

Look at how RIDICULOUSLY long my bangs have gotten. They need a trim toute suite! (Except I keep forgetting to book it.)

I prefer to keep them no longer than my eyebrows (because they start getting in my eyes and itching me!), and this is just…insane. And I hate them. For some reason, my cowlick is a real bitch at this length (also when they’re too short – but why now!), and they have a tendency to go lanky and flat on me, but curling doesn’t really work, and just WANH. I’m about ready to cut them myself (except I don’t want Jess to yell at me).

FOTD: 04/22/10

-Eucerin Sensitive Skin Everyday Protection Face Lotion
-Too Faced Shadow Insurance
-Revlon Matte Eye Shadow #007 Riviera Blue
-Palladio Liquid Eyeliner #ELL270 Midnight
-CoverGirl Professional Super Thick Lash Mascara #310 Black Brown
-CoverGirl LipSlicks #120 Demure
I had to throw out the Palladio eyeliner after using it because it was burning my eyes. My other Palladio eyeliner doesn’t do that, and this one is actually the newest of the two. Huh. Anyway, I’m not a fan of watering eyes fucking up my makeup, so good riddance.

An underwhelming picture of my nailpolish from this past weekend:

-1 coat Barielle Nail Rebuilding Protein
-2 coats China Glaze Lubu Heels
-1 coat Tea Nail Hardener
This picture is all you get because my fingers were in SAD shape. First, six of my nails broke, which, as you know, means I have to cut the rest of them short, too. And then because I am really bad about tearing or chewing at my hangnails, especially when I’m anxious, the skin around my nails (is that still your cuticles?) is pretty gnarly, and I don’t want to inflict that on you. This thumb was the only one even remotely presentable.

NOTD: 04/25/10 and 04/26/10
So, I finally got For Audrey and was all excited about using it. And then didn’t, because I wanted my nails to be super pretty and worthy of For Audrey. And then I realized I was impatient and my nails/fingers were a hot mess and would take a while to get better, so I went ahead and did it. It last two days, and started chipping today – which is actually fine with me, because apparently For Audrey doesn’t like either the base coat or the top coat, and there was mad bubbling.

-1 coat Barielle Nail Rebuilding Protein
-2 coats China Glaze For Audrey (*did not like the base coat or top coat – mad bubbling)
-1 coat Tea Nail Hardener

Our first iris of 2010 – bloomed a week ago, but I’m getting around to posting it now. It makes for some lovely FOTD inspiration, doesn’t it? (I don’t think I have anything really close to those colors yet, though; will have to fix that.)

FOTD: 04/26/10
I knew I wanted two things when I did my makeup this morning:
1-Fyrinnae
2-more on the garish side

-Physicians Formula Healthy Wear SPF 50 Powder Foundation in Translucent Light
-Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy
-Fyrinnae Curiouser and Curiouser! (*this is after eleven hours of wear w/ Pixie Epoxy and no touch-ups – not too shabby!)
-L’Oreal HiP Color Chrome Eyeliner #915 Silver Lightning (upper lashline, lower waterline)
-Nyx Glitter Liner #GL06 Silver (over Silver Lightning on upper lashline)
-CoverGirl LashBlast Luxe #845 Black Cabernet
-Fyrinnae Lip Lustre in Shangri-La
A bit loud, but I like it. 🙂

Today was an awesome day for mail!

I got:
-the corset vest pattern I pre-ordered from Tempest a while ago
-the Haus of Gloi order THAT I PLACED FRIDAY. That’s right, ordered it before lunch on Friday, and it was waiting for me when I got home today. How fucking rad is that? I ordered 4oz. of Body Emulsion in Elevenses (scrumptious!), a sample of Sugar Exfoliant in Honey Tree (quite possibly THE sexiest scent I have ever smelled in my life; I want to do bad things to it; you NEED to try it), and samples of Lavender Sugar perfume (yum!) and Madcap Garden perfume (deliriously wonderful). And the wonderful people behind Haus of Gloi (Matt & Britton) sent it wrapped in tissue paper, extremely well-packed, and tucked in a handwritten thank-you note and a free sample of their Lavender Sugar soap. I’m Haus of Gloi’s bitch, now, if you hadn’t already assumed. I just want to put that on the record.
-Ah crap, this brings me to my lipstick addiction, time to fess up. Today’s mail brought MAC’s Petals and Peacocks lippie, which I fucking love already, and also another MAC lippie that I decided I just had to have, Viva Glam Cyndi.

And the amount of lipsticks and lipstick samples I bought last week and this weekend is insane. I guess if it was yarn or crafting supplies, I’d just be like, “And what.” Or if it was a variety of makeup. But it’s all lipstick, and it’s all staring at me, and I think I may have a problem. (Although is it really a “problem” if it’s not upsetting you?) Let’s review, shall we?
-MAC Ever Hip lippie (hasn’t quite arrived yet)
-Sobe lippie (hasn’t quite arrived yet)
-I don’t know if I should count the BusyBuzzyBee order as it was for a lipscrub and a lipbalm, but let’s count them since they’re lip products (haven’t quite arrived yet)
And then we have (in order of swatching):

-Revlon Super Lustrous Creme Lipstick #660 Berry Haute

-MAC Viva Glam Cyndi

-MAC Petals & Peacocks (goddamn, is this bright, and that’s why I LOVE it)

-Revlon Matte Lipstick #004 Pink About It

-Revlon Matte Lipstick #009 Fabulous Fig (*goddammit, there’s tooth peeking through! ahhhh!)

-Revlon Matte Lipstick #010 Wine Not (*take that, cupid’s bow! hiiiii-ya!)

Really, I blame the Revlon Mattes for this INSANE lipstick binge. I picked up Pink About It and Fabulous Fig to try, after seeing how well they worked for other bloggers, and was really not expecting to be wowed by them, since they’re matte lipsticks. I don’t know what I *was* expecting, actually, but I love them. So much that, even though I was all, “Kathy, you can wait til Fall to get Wine Not, you probably won’t wear it til then, anyway,” I went out for a couple groceries tonight and broke down and had to get it. Um, and then picked up the Berry Haute, too. What? It was calling my name. And then I had to eyeball the Va Va Violet, but I suspect I’ve got something similar enough already, and the voice of reason and moderate restraint had to bust in there somewhere. Suspecting I may have a dupe of the Va Va Violet also leads me to my next big makeup project: swatching ALL of my lippies. So I can see what I have, and also so I can acknowledge what I’m not going to use and get rid of it (to make room for MORE, muhahahah!).

This is long as shit, and it’s getting close to bedtime. (Would you prefer I break these long-ass posts up into multiple, smaller posts? I worry that if anyone’s following by email, that would mean a TON of damn emails at once. But maybe it’d be more readable?) But I’m caught up on photos, dammit. Well, except for the Duke Garden photos, but they can wait. Later, taters.

4 thoughts on “Using all my willpower not to make an Amy Winehouse song title joke.

Leave a Reply

