Playing catch-up

Look for work (last Thursday):

-Nyx Concealer Stick #CS03 Light
-Physicians Formula Healthy Wear SPF 50 Powder Foundation in Light
-Too Faced Shadow Insurance
-Silk Naturals Eye Shadow in Sari
-CoverGirl Perfect Point Plus Eye Pencil #210 Espresso
-CoverGirl VolumeExact Waterproof #125 Mascara Very Black
-Silk Naturals Kisser Slicker in Nectar (I really like this – nice color, great consistency. I’m pretty much sold on Silk Naturals.)

Look for the show (Thursday night):

-Nyx Concealer Stick #CS03 Light
-Physicians Formula Healthy Wear SPF 50 Powder Foundation in Light
-Too Faced Shadow Insurance
-Hi-Fi Cosmetics Eye Shadow in Twist & Shout (inner corners)
-Hi-Fi Cosmetics Eye Shadow in Pussycat (middle of lid)
-Hi-Fi Cosmetics Eye Shadow in Wild Thing (outer vee)
*I bought these shadows from Hi-Fi as a…I don’t know. “Combined look” kit? They came with a nice card showing how to apply them to get the look, and I love it. I think this is probably the most complicated look I’ve done, at least in terms of number of colors and application, and I think it’s pretty sweet, considering I’m pretty much a noob when it comes to anything more complicated than a one-color wash. 😀
-L’Oreal HiP Color Truth Cream Eyeliner #905 Black
-L’Oreal Waterproof Voluminous Mascara Carbon Black
-Smith’s Rosebud Salve
-mark Glow Baby Glow Luxe Hook Up Lip Gloss in Orchid Luxe

-color-changing hair: I haz it.
Right after the second round with ColorFix:

The next day:

Kind of neat. But it got darker to a point (you can see it at it’s darkest/most green in the FOTD pics above, and still to come), and then stopped changing. And I picked up some black dye last night to have on hand, and then realized the green wasn’t washing out at all. So…I went ahead and dyed my hair black. I mean, why wait until Sunday to see if the green will wash out so I can dye it aqua, only to have it not wash out enough and I end up going black anyway? And it clearly wasn’t going to be light enough for the pink no matter what. So I decided not to wait. It’s cool. I like it. I’ve got pictures to post later. It’s actually kind of navy blue in places, which is neat since that was originally the color I was looking for when I stumbled across Special Effects’ Fishbowl Blue. So yay! Anyway. Also? I am in DESPERATE need of a bang trim. It’s getting beyond ridiculous.

At the show the other night, I found a new favorite drink: the Carolina Cross. (Is it named that after the watermelon variety? Could be.) It’s made with vodka, watermelon juice, mint, ginger liqueur, and probably one or two other ingredients I’m forgetting. And hot damn, is it delicious. This recipe for Watermelon-Soju Cocktail looks like it might do the trick. I will have to try that out. (I’m also reminded of the watermelon margaritas I made last summer, and they were fantastic, too.)

Which makes for a somewhat depressing but relevant segue into my new catch-up topic: some health bullshit. Actually, it’s not all bullshit, and if I’m lucky, it will turn out to be *no* bullshit whatsoever. Here’s the deal: I don’t drink, like, ever. Not because I’m a teetotaler, but because 1-I really only like girly drinks where it doesn’t taste like alcohol, and 2-my tolerance is stupid small. I’m a one-drink drunk. Which is kind of nice. I get a nice little buzz going for a bit, but sober up pretty quickly, it’s cheap, no puking. I’ve been good and fucked up on occasion, and it’s not really my thing. Anyway, all this discussion of watermelon drinks is making my mouth water, but I probably shouldn’t booze it up any time soon (even if I were so inclined), because it might affect my blood pressure. Which I’m having to monitor because the last couple times I went to the doctor’s, it was a little high. It’s worrisome, because high blood pressure runs in the family, and I’d rather not get it. (Although there are other, much more serious complaints that run in the family that I’d much rather not get, so high blood pressure isn’t that big a deal, and I’ll just consider myself lucky to get off with that.) It’s pissing me off because I’m pretty much the healthiest I’ve been in five years, and for those five years, I sat around 120/80 every time. Now I’m healthier, and my blood pressure is higher? LAME. Also, I was on phentermine last summer, which is basically speed, and my blood pressure was fine all through that, too. I think it’s much more likely that my blood pressure is up because I’m stressing over shit, and the last few times I’ve been to the doctor’s, it’s been after like a whole week of full-blown panicking, and anxiety will raise your blood pressure. So, I think there’s a good chance if I can just chill out, it’ll go back down. But in the meantime, I get to check it twice a week and go from there. (Of course, my anxiety, particularly related to blood/veins/my-body-in-general, is making it a little difficult to chill out with respect to the whole “oh god I’ve got high blood pressure I’m going to die” tip. And I’m only half-joking there. UGH, anxiety, fuck off, would you? Thanks.) Eh. I have moments where it bothers me and I’m painfully conscious of, say, my heartbeat (not that it’s irregular, just that I notice it more than I usually do) and it creeps me out. But for the most part, I’m just trying to not let it get to me. But that’s a bit easier said than done. Bleah.

God that was long. Now for the not-actually-bullshit bullshit. So last Friday, I went to the doctor’s because I had a pain in my chest that was making me crazy. It hurt like shit, it was in a weird place (right side of my breastbone), and I felt like I was having trouble breathing (which is a HUGE anxiety trigger for me). It didn’t quite feel like a muscle ache, and when I was deep in the deluded grip of anxiety, I was worried my lung was collapsing. Yeah, get there. (I did tell you it was making me crazy.) But no – went to the doctor’s, and the good news is, I’d just managed to somehow aggravate some cartilage in my ribs. (Costochondritis.) Gross, but not a big deal. (Well, gross to me, with my body issues. And not *as* gross now that I’ve worked on it some in EMDR. But still a bit gross.) So, that was awesome news. The less-awesome news? My doctor said I should be recovered in about a month. Not really looking forward to this pain for a whole month. However, it’s already gotten much, much better. It’s still there, and if I turn my torso to my right (like I’m looking over my shoulder, or reaching for something behind me), it hurts, and the more I turn, the more it hurts. But it’s still miles away from how bad it hurt Friday and over the weekend, so that’s great. Maybe I won’t be saddled with this bullshit for a month, and I would love that.

And lastly, some tv-related blathering. I don’t know if y’all are keeping up with the shows I’ve been watching, but there is some wonderful tv going on lately. Last week, I enjoyed the hell out of Lost, Deadwood (thank you, 101 channel), Supernatural, Justified, V, Doctor Who, and reruns of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia. Jim Beaver continues to be a badass actor, on both Deadwood and Supernatural. (Sidenote: he has a book out, and I kind of really want to read it, because 1-Jim Beaver, and 2-it’s gotten good reviews. But it’s letters he wrote while his wife was dying from cancer, the last year or so of her life, so I’m sure I will bawl like a baby, which is why I’m holding off on it for now. Well, that and I’m currently reading the new Dresden Files book, Changes.) And then Fringe was so utterly good, and Walter broke my heart a little, with the white tulip. John Noble also never disappoints, and neither does Peter Weller.

Leave a Reply

